What was that you said?

I like loud music as much as the next person. On a spring day you can hear me coming down the street – car windows open, music blaring. But, for the life of me, I cannot understand why, in stores that cater to a young demographic, they insist on playing the music so loud. It’s a wonder anyone can think. Jokes aside about the people working in these stores and their IQs, but honestly, does the music have to be cranked? What’s up with that?

I took Lenore shopping on Saturday and the music in Aeropostale was so loud I found it impossible to shop.  Sales clerks had to shout. I had to shout at Lenore and I must have said “WHAT?” a dozen times. If me making her shop for less revealing tops didn’t make her insane, that sure did. At Hollister, the pounding from the music was so loud it gave me a headache. Not that the fact that this “cool” store refers to boys as “dudes” and girls as “bettys” wasn’t enough to give me a headache. I had to leave. 

I just wonder, with some of these kids growing up with headsets, has their hearing been so destroyed that music that’s loud to me isn’t loud to them? Or, is their hearing still so sharp that they can hear people talk despite the loud music?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

